This forum is now locked and moved (back) to Plogue's forum http://plogue.com/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=14
Playing doubling instruments (e.g sax/clarinet) with SFZ and Sibelius?
  • Hello all,

I'm brand new to this as I just had to buy a new PC when the old one blew up. This meant that I lost my old Soundblaster sound card and no more automatic support of SF2 sound fonts.

I have reinstalled Sibelius, which I use for creating my big band scores, and installed Sforzando. I successfully converted my customised big band SF2 file into SFZ, and it creates a directory tree with the bank/programme numbers for each of the sounds in the original file. That all seems well and good.

I then managed to get Sibelius to talk to the VST and playback my trumpets/saxes etc. I seems I had to do this by creating a separate instance of the Sforzando virtual instrument for each of the 17 instruments in the band so that each can be configured with the appropriate sound.

However, this doesn't achieve what I need! Saxophonists double on clarinet and the brass instruments have mutes! I achieved this with my soundfont because Sibelius sends MIDI bank/programme changes which can be controlled by text items in the score such as "cup mute". This worked seamlessly.

But this implies that the virtual instrument must be able to change between two sounds (clarinet <-> sax, and open <-> mute). As far as I can see, this doesn't appear possible. Each instance of the Sforzando is simply loaded with one SFZ file, be it a trumpet or sax, and that is it.

Am I correct in thinking therefore that I can't actually use Sforzando to achieve a big band playback with musicians who double instruments?

regards

Michael
  • It depends on how you think about it.

If you think of each instrument sound and score for that, you'll find it easier than thinking in terms of the musician that might be playing that sound.